Take Some of it Back: Its Refreshing

Did I speak too soon?

The blog I wrote: Desire not Responsibility outlined my less than enchanting experience, helping others, by providing our professional services for free.  Well, I was at it again, recently providing some rather casual career advice, that resulted in me completly reformatting a CV.  I’m pleased to say the advice & CV help produced a job soon after, for a very appreciative individual….. so refreshing. I wonder if I abandoned my commitment to free professional support, too soon.  I’m slowly testing the field; take some of my cynicism back!!

Another refreshing thing happened to us this week, gone.  There was some statistics in the Metro (UK) about Chinese and Nigerians, yes Nigerians (aka Africans) out performing their indigenous, English counterparts, at school.  Not surprising to me, I read years ago (in the Economist) how Nigerians and Ghanaians have the highest rate of post- graduate than any other ethnic  group in UK.

Its nice that for a change, news about Africans is not about disease, poverty and ignorance. Not that this will burst the myth of higher racial versus lower intelligence, far too entrenched and politised (taking over, or militarily intervening in other countries, for example).  It is nice though, as an organization delivering learning and development and with an international outlook,  to be able to blog about something really cheerful and encouraging.

Finally we’ve gone smartphone and learn a bit about us, in this less than 1 minute videoImage 

About A Double X

Appreciating life & living. Loving travel & learning new things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Take Some of it Back: Its Refreshing

  1. Pingback: A Year Today-Time to Reflect | Topform Professional International

Leave a comment