An Elephant Never Forgets

Resolution Free Zone

No doubt millions round the world would have made their New Year resolution by now.  Its customary for many.  Equally customary is it, to break the resolution after a time, ranging from a few days to a few months.  I personally know of no-one, that has kept their resolution, to the end of the year   Whether its losing weight, volunteering for charity, being a “better” person, drinking less, smoking- not at all!!

Santa For Adults

Resolutions seem to be in the realm of Santa for adults.  I stopped resolutions many years ago.  As a child and young adult I really tried.   As a mature adult,  I simply forgot and found myself in the same repetitive pattern, unconsciously.   So I concluded it was a waste time; it will take more than a seasonal sentiment to change.  It will need real resolve and determination, lacking sentiment.  I have faired much better; no salt, no sugar, next to no sugary drinks,  more fruit and vegetables.   It was no easy task, reaching a plateau, of not needing a resolution.  It was a spluttering road to success.

No Garbage InNone Out?

My determination hasn’t just been about out -in changes.  Its also been about in – out  changes.  More patient,  less judgmental, more accommodative, curbing my temper and penchant for cutting remarks.  More generous, not monetary, that hasn’t really been an issue but more generous and forgiving in my opinions of people, often against what was patently obvious, I choose to believe better.  For me thats something…..I say things as I see them, I like to declare, unemotionally. 

Transmutation

I haven’t been able to do this without help.  In previous posts I wrote about my renewed encounter with Jesus Christ.   Its been monumental, really.  A changed perspective to the point that at one stage I didn’t know whom I was.  This may seem the antithesis of “seek and you will find”.  It is; this was more “lose your life and find it”.  I couldn’t recognise myself, or surroundings any longer.  My world had made no changes but I discovered my changed perspective, had insinuated itself, upon my physical environment, also.

Fountain of Life

How did this happen?  Well not by my doing.  I simply became an adherent of Christ.  It sounds like a New Age guru reference; adherent! but that is what it is.  I don’t feel disciple or follower, conveys my transmutation.  How have I managed it?  Well I am determined to adhere to the teachings of Christ, subsequently and consequently, doing rather than saying.  When the Bible days pray and love my enemies, I try, then the Spririt of God steps in.   When the priest, pastor reminds me to bear the – fruits of the Spirit  – “love, patience, gentleness, mercy, kindness” – I take note and try then the Spirit steps in.  When the Bible admonishes to help the needy, and give without questioning, I awaken to this responsibility,  sometimes against my better judgement, of being cheated or scammed.   The Spirit steps in,  and soon I am giving, without thinking, even when things are really tight.  All in all I remember not only to stimulate the world of Christ, as overcomer, on earth but as I am now always reminded, life to come.  Real life, real paradise.    This is how I am somewhere else, while I am in the same ‘place’.  A continual change, a constant resolution, a New Life right here, not just New Year, which is really just another day.  After all not so long ong ago, in the Roman  calendar, March was the New Year.   This I why at one time I had to ask who I was, so much has changed.

Rear View

So I am looking back this time    Reconnecting with my past, not to wallow,  regret, think in hindsight,or wish things different but to bring the past together into the present, to forma new, New and whole. Comfortable in the knowledge this teaches me that things can and will change for the better. 

HAPPY NEW YEAR.  MAY YOU COME TO A PLACE OF BRINGING THE OLD INTO THE NEW, FOR A NEW NEW.

About A Double X

Appreciating life & living. Loving travel & learning new things.
This entry was posted in motivation, Musing, New Year and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment