Managing Responsibly, Means Being Responsible.

Putting your money where your mouth is is definitely the way I like to approach life. After taking a Managing Responsibly On- line course by Manchester University, applying the new techniques I learnt in the workplace could be considered given.  However, I’m pleased to say this course, as well as others in Sustainability, came in handy  on a personal level, when I moved into new place last year.  I noticed that although the block  of at least 50 flats of professional people was well maintained, surprisingly it had no recycling bins.  

recycling

I mentioned it to on – site management  but was given a story about the Council taking the recycling bin away, the year previous.  At first I took this at face value but noticing the inordinate amounts of recyclable material, we were binning, decided this was something I needed to take up, when after mentioning it further, no action was taken.

I Googled, found the number, telephoned and was told I needed commercial recycle bins, which could only be ordered by the building’s management, due to the nature of the building.   I passed the message onto the lady- in -charge, whom bluntly refused to call. Undeterred I left her the phone number & suggested she try & arrange a bin for the building, due to the overwhelming waste.  Nothing happened, so determined to do my bit to act responsibly & contribute towards a sustainable future for the next generation, enquired about personal recycling.  I was informed I could pick up recycling bags, at the library & drop outside every Wednesday, for picking the following day.

I’m glad to say I’ve done this & my many bottles, cans, cardboard etc is now part of the wider drive to save our planet, from over consumption.  I recently made the effort again to  galvanize management, into moving on recycling, to no avail.  I also pointed out a couple of energy inefficiencies in the building, though I don’t know how seriously they’re taking me.  Anyway, the moral of this is, a little goes a long way & don’t be undeterred by the laziness or irresponsibility of other people.  No matter how small the contribution it does make a difference.

 

 

About Ms. Funmi Ade. MPhil, MSc, BA (Hons), FIC, MCIPS, CPPM, D7307.

All things enterprise, learning, development & women.
This entry was posted in motivation, Sustainable Development and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

